History will be made on Sunday at the Little League World Series.

For the first time since the tournament expanded to 16 teams in 2001, there has not been a championship game that saw two teams that had to endure the elimination bracket.

That is until Sunday when Curacao and Louisiana take the field at Lamade Stadium with the 2019 Little League World Series title on the line.

Louisiana, the first team to make it to the championship after losing its opener, will face Curacao, who lost to South Korea in their second game of the tournament. This will be Louisiana’s first time in the title game while Curacao is making their third appearance in the championship game.

The last time a team from Curacao won the Little League World Series was back in 2004 when current Oakland A’s infielder Juickson Profar was a member of the team. This year’s squad has Profar’s youngest brother Jurdrick as part of the team and will look to duplicate what his brother did 15 years earlier.

The team from the Caribbean reached the tournament championship after a drama-filled international championship 5-4 win over Japan on Saturday.

Curley Martha gave the team from Willemstad, Curacao enough run support with a two-run round tripper in the fifth to get past the Japanese. Shendrion Martinus added two-runs on a double in the third to help his team advance.

Both Martha and Martinus would hold Japan in check on the mound, allowing just five hits in the game and combining to strikeout six batters. Unfortunately for Curacao, Martha won’t be available to them to pitch on Sunday due to his pitch count getting too high on Saturday. He will be available to play the field and bat. In his 16 plate appearances in the tournament he as nine hits with three of them leaving the yard.

On the US side of the draw, Louisiana avenged their loss to Hawaii in the opening round of the tournament by taking the US championship game on Saturday by a final score of 9-5. The team from River Ridge scored five runs in the fifth then tacked on four more in the sixth for the victory.

Marshall Louque drove in four runs in the win while William Andrade pitched four and two-thirds scoreless innings.

All eyes will be on Louisiana’s outfielder Reece Roussel who broke the tournament hits record on Saturday with his two-run single in the sixth. He is now 15 for 20 at the plate in Williamsport and looks to add to his totals on Sunday.

Both teams have had amazing tournaments to get them to this point and have been resilient in the tough times. Both teams have score 38 runs during the tournament with the Caribbean representatives allowing just one more run than their opponents did.

It is pretty much a coin toss as to who will win the game.

Little League International announced on Saturday that the tournament will be expanded by four teams, making it a 20-team tournament starting with the 2021 Little League World Series.

Cuba, Panama and Puerto Rico are to gain direct entry to the LLWS on a rotating basis, with each having a chance two out of every three years. When those countries do not have direct entries, they will play through the Caribbean region, as they do now.

As a result, two more American teams will be added as well with the creation of the Mountain and Metro regions. The Mountain Region will include Montana, Wyoming, Utah and Nevada; the Metro Region will be made up of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Rhode Island.

The expansion of the tournament will give more boys and girls the chance to show their skills on an international stage.