For a third time in this year’s postseason, the officials helped the San Jose Sharks to victory.

Let’s rewind to Game 7 of the opening round of the playoffs between the Sharks and Vegas Golden Knights. Near the halfway mark of the third period, San Jose’s Joe Pavelski was injured off a faceoff which the on-ice officials called a major penalty on. However, if anything it should have been a minor for cross-checking.

The Sharks went on to score four power play goals on the major penalty to take the lead. They would go on to win the game and series in overtime of Game 7.

Then a couple weeks later they benefited from a controversial offside review that negated a Colorado Avalanche goal in Game 7 of their second round series.

Now to Wednesday night.

The Sharks once again appeared to have caught a major break, this time during Game 3 of their Western Conference Finals series with the St. Louis Blues. This time it wasn’t a penalty, but a helping hand.

During Wednesday night’s game, Erik Karlsson netted the overtime winner, putting the puck past netminder Jordan Binnington. But, seconds before that there was a hand pass by Timo Meier to Gustav Nyquist at the side of the net which all four officials missed. To add salt to the wound, Meier was given an assist on the goal.

The on-ice officiating crew talked following the play but did not change the call. They also had their hands tied as the play is not reviewable under the current NHL rules.

After all this you would expect that it was the WWE’s Dangerous Danny Davis, a heel ref from the 1980s, officiating the games.

Jeremy Rutherford, of the Athletic, spoke to series supervisor Kay Whitmore following the game and hs said, “It's a non-reviewable play. You can read between the lines. You can figure out what you want. You watched the video. But it's just non-reviewable. I know that sounds like a cop-out answer, but that's the truth."

While I get it, the play is not reviewable and there was nothing the War Room in Toronto could do because of the rules, but it is an obvious call that was missed. The league can review if a player’s skate was offside by a millimetre or even less to negate a goal, but they cannot look at something as obvious as a hand pass.

With the controversial win, the Sharks now hold a 2-1 series lead with Game 4 scheduled for Friday night.